Wake Education Partnership

For immediate release

Tim Simmons
919.821.7609 ext. 140

June 4, 2013

Partnership awards nearly $75,000
 in Teacher Leadership Grants

Thirty-four Wake County public school teachers will be awarded $75,000 in classroom grants for the coming year thanks to local business investments in Wake Education Partnership. 

The Partnership announced grants to individuals and teaching teams in Innovative Instruction at a recent program attended by more than 100 educators and business leaders in downtown Raleigh. The grants are focused on the arts, dental health, early childhood literacy, math, life science, health and nutrition, and autism education.

Additionally, two inaugural awards were made: the Dr. Sherri Merritt Literacy Scholarship and the Elizabeth Grimes-Droessler Arts Education Award.

Teacher Leadership Grants for the 2013-2014 academic year were made possible by Time Warner Cable, Biogen Idec., GlaxoSmithKline, Food Lion, Quintiles, the Carolina Hurricanes Kids 'N Community Foundation, Blue Cross Blue Shield of North Carolina, Duke Raleigh Hospital, VantageSouth Bank, the Sherri Merritt Literacy Scholarship Fund and the Hit It Far For Kirby golf tournament.

The Teacher Leadership Grants program is one of the Partnership's longest-running programs, allowing the business community to invest almost $1 million in classroom programs during the past 26 years.

Grant applications were reviewed by a committee of volunteers from Wake County's business leaders and educators. Criteria included the sustainability of a program, contributions to professional development and improved student achievement. Recipients and team leaders of Teacher Leadership Grants for the 2013-2014 school year are:

Christine Eason - Brier Creek Elementary School
Elizabeth Luna - Athens Drive High School
Janice Wilson - Briarcliff Elementary School

Exceptional Children with Autism
Julie Blas - Lincoln Heights Elementary School
Trisha Dillon - Sycamore Creek Elementary School
Laura Palacios - Heritage High School
Beth Tomlinson - Timber Drive Elementary School

Dental Health
Kristen Arnold - Creech Road Elementary School
Angel Reavis - Hodge Road Elementary School

Dr. Sherri Merritt Literacy Scholarship
Marlana Donald - Hope Charter Elementary School
Jane Ferguson - Lake Myra Elementary School

Early Childhood Literacy
Joan Certa-Moore - Brooks Elementary School
Beth Schetter - Lacy Elementary School

Karyn Gloden - Wake Young Women's Leadership Academy
Rene' Herrick - Fuquay-Varina Elementary School
Amanda Hummel - Hilburn Academy
Susan Klaric - Carroll Middle School
Tiffany Lachenmayr - Timber Drive Elementary School
Ed Ryan - Yates Mill Elementary School
David Sammons - Sanderson High School
Terri Walker - Farmington Woods Elementary School

Life Science
Beth Campbell - Mt. Vernon School
Barb Fair - Kingswood Elementary School
Marcia Ferreira - Morrisville Elementary School
Milly Hodges - North Garner Middle School
Jennifer Holcomb - Rand Road Elementary School
Carrie Jones - Middle Creek High School
Michelle LeRoy - Penny Road Elementary School
Janet Pride - Combs Elementary School
Jodi Riedel - Wakefield High School

Kelly Carroll - Millbrook Elementary School
Connie Daniel - Vandora Springs Elementary School

Nutrition Health
Laura Piraino - Exploris Middle School
Jeannie Ransone - Sanderson High School

TLG2013Recipients2013 Teacher Leadership Grant recipients



About Wake Education Partnership

Wake Education Partnership is a non-profit organization that plays a critical role in helping business leaders, elected officials and educators work toward the common goal of increasing student performance measured against world-class academic standards. It is an independent non-profit dedicated to creating world-class schools in Wake County through business engagement and community involvement. For more information, please contact us through this web site or by calling 919.821.7609.

# # #